And So It Begins…

The winter is colder than I remember,

It has shown it has teeth this year,

And sunken them in to all of me I have no cover for,

It is in this time,

When all who have slipped and fallen,

Have risen,

Some with anger, others with the smile of internal embarrassment,

Now walk with recovered esteem,

That I begin again,

With hope in my heart

And my cards falling away from the once tight grip

Closely pulled in to my thick warm knitted jumper

Covering me wholly,

Safely,

Protecting me from the dangers I now open myself to,

Freely and willingly,

With my eyes fixed on a sight,

Way in the distance,

As if I am gazing at tomorrows setting sun today,

I am no longer protected,

I release me,

And so it begins.

Copyright Protected

Simon Bucknor 2010

Explore posts in the same categories: Poetry

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

