Alone and Cold

Fear grips tight as the future slips from sight

Alone and cold

Whilst my smile

Springs eternal

The edges of my grin show more truth than I hoped for

I search for the warmth

As my heart beats

Its irregular way through life

Alone and cold I lie here underneath a thousand blankets

Awaiting the morning

Where dreams can come true

And thoughts simplify.

Whilst I wait I drift into the darkness

Still I love, still I hope,

Still alone, still cold

Still searching for what it is the future holds.

© Simon Bucknor

2009

Explore posts in the same categories: Poetry

Leave a Reply

