Help

It is in the quiet times

Of distress and solitude

That I need my solitude eroded

By another, by you

Whose arms are stronger than mine own.

When it is my face that cannot be seen,

Childishly squeezing my eyes tight

So that I am hidden in a youthful ignorance

I need to be discovered,

Rescued, taken to your safe place.

It is in the times of silent surrender

I need my shield and sword

Held high by someone, by another

Whose heart is less damaged,

Less resistant to healing than mine own.

When I am seen only as a shadow,

When I am too far gone,

When I can no longer scream

Nor wave my hands to attract your attention.

When, my words become drowned in tears

And the paint from the walls speckle the blood on my fists,

When my knees are tucked under my chin

My head hung under the weight of my life

When my feet will not bring me to your door

My phone won’t dial itself

My email won’t automatically read my mind

And send out a flare that will bring you running

When I am in these unchartered caves

And the level of the water is rising

And death draws near

I need you.

If you can see me when no one else can,

Hearing my burdens crush my spine

When my lips are unmoving

In these times of silent surrender

I need you

For you are my only help.

If it is too late,

You alone will know.

You won’t see my face,

Nor hear the murmurs of my mouth,

My scent will be a mere memory

I will have needed you,

And my need will have passed you by.

It is in this forever silence

That you will realise

You watched my demise.

© Simon Bucknor

05/02/10

Explore posts in the same categories: Poetry

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “Help”

  1. sittingpugs Says:

    The first stanza reminds me of a baseball field. The rest of this poem makes me think of a child forgotten or hiding in the wine cellar because there are bad people in the house screaming and breaking things.


  2. The contentious balance of needing help and asking for it; the dilemma of any independently minded person. Great work!


  3. Please accept your Sunshine Award. Keep touching hearts and minds.

    http://rawsubstance.com/2010/02/07/shine-your-light-on-the-world/

    xxx


Leave a Reply

