Butterflies in my Tummy

I saw a woman

Who made my heart beat out of time, hard

She must have heard the fumbling beat

It seemed she knew I was looking and thinking

She smiled at me, as if she read my impure thoughts

I tried and tried and twisted inside,

Made my eyes eventually turn away

I hid all I could hide

But she had seen my gazes

And begun her journey that ended with her hand in mine

My feet filling my cheeks, my speech only in thought

Her scent wrapped me in a summer’s day

Feeling a gooey warmth inside

As if I had swallowed the sun

Becoming all it was

I was in life with love,

Encouraging my own confusion,

Enthused without regard for possiblities or consequence

Alive, awakened by the dedication of beauty

All else had been erased, or covered over entirely

I had been touched in ways…I dont intend to divulge

By a view of a woman the likes of which I had not viewed before

Who has made my life a lovely place to live

As long as I never let this moment pass

And watch her walk away.

© Simon Bucknor

2010

Explore posts in the same categories: Poetry

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “Butterflies in my Tummy”

  1. sittingpugs Says:

    The best songwriters and composers know how to capture that moment everlasting.

    Photographers too.

    My feet filling my cheeks, my speech only in thought

    That’s a striking image, compels the reader to pause and re-enact it.

  2. emmyloubucks Says:

    I like. As a woman, I like


Leave a Reply

