The Frustration

I love the person I am

As I exist in the shadows of love

Because it is a me that I can see

Without closing my eyes

And turning my head away

I love the things I say

Even the darkness that escapes

Because it is me, in truth

And lies,

Well lies leave a distinct bitterness

At the end of my tongue

Which no amount of spitting

Or Listerine can rid

I enjoy being myself at times

Seeing the fear I put into others

I like me

The way my footsteps are placed in peace

It’s not arrogance

Nor misplaced self-belief

Just my way of dealing with

The impossibilities of me being anyone else but me.

Explore posts in the same categories: Poetry

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “The Frustration”


  1. The best way to be is to be you! After all that’s who God intended you to be! So simple, but yet so many forget!

    Keep doing YOU as YOU produce amazing work like this!

    xxx


Leave a Reply

