The Last Time I Fell In Love

Have you ever booked an appointment,

To hear the wind blow?

I have,

I had to book online and await a reply,

I felt like a fool, but the thought was fun,

So I waited and waited for my reply to come.

To my surprise, I did and it did too,

‘Your appointment has been confirmed,

Please enjoy’,

I had a time, date and venue,

Along with a health and safety brief,

Was told what to bring,

And what I wouldn’t need.

Excitement hit me hard and fast,

Like a baseball in the chest,

I prepared myself for days that felt like years,

Patiently waiting,

And with waiting my time soon arrived.

I turned up at an office,

Which looked to me much like open space,

I had been told to sit in the shadow of the brightest tree

And try to lose my weight,

Confused, just a touch,

I sat, sunk, leaned back and rested my weary frame.

As if from inside my own soul,

The sky opened and called my name.

It said, ‘The wind will be with you shortly,

Please do not be alarmed

Enjoy your experience,

Any problems simply raise your arm’

With that there was an enjoyable silence,

As if the world’s spinning had stopped,

The wind blew and I heard,

Each undulating ripple, every majestic movement,

I heard and it comforted me,

Bringing with it sounds of the near and far east,

And the song of the sparrows nesting in the trees,

It was a beautifully full moment.

Complete.

My appointment was over,

The wind moved on to its next client,

And as I rose to my feet

With a replenished peace and a new found infatuation with the wind,

Life’s other sounds engulfed me,

The screams, the cries, the ills, the dreams crushed by misguided realties,

I trudged home with this din seeking a home in me,

And booked another appointment to hear the wind blow

So I can retake my place with my new love in the shadow of the brightest tree.

Explore posts in the same categories: Poetry

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “The Last Time I Fell In Love”

  1. sittingpugs Says:

    I like the imagery and choice of words here:

    I had a time, date and venue,

    Along with a health and safety brief,

    Was told what to bring,

    And what I wouldn’t need.

    Excitement hit me hard and fast,

    Like a baseball in the chest,

    I had been told to sit in the shadow of the brightest tree

    And try to lose my weight,

    Confused, just a touch,

    I sat, sunk, leaned back and rested my weary frame


Leave a Reply

