Before the Rainbow

It’s raining,

And I have become one with the grime that splashes

as the filthy sky-juice mixes with the dirt that lays on the streets that I walk

Every day.

The more it rains,

The grimier I become,

The more of me that is taken over by the sky-juice /dirt mix,

The more of me I lose to the streets that I walk

Every day,

The less me I become.

And as it rains,

And the skies spit down in jest,

Lightning shining over and over again,

Glorifying my decay

Like a thorny crown resting on my new lox

Causing blood and sweat to drip from my temple,

As thunder strikes out bringing screams from mouths,

I feel myself eroding,

Becoming less me each day,

Until all I remain to be is that mix…

…,

…,

…,

…The dirt of the streets that I walk every day and the filthy sky-juice that fell and created me as grime

And slowly washed me away

Into sewers and blocked drains.

Unrecognizable now,

It’s raining

And I have become one with the grime that lays on the streets I walk

Every day.

No longer me,

No longer human,

No longer reachable

Not by friend nor foe,

Not by Mrs Love or Mistress Lust

Even Dr Anger must wait at Lucifer’s right hand being stroked and held back,

So forgive me if I don’t answer when you call me by my name,

‘Cos I am no longer here.

© Simon D Bucknor

Explore posts in the same categories: Poetry

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

