Would you stand for it?

 

(A Lil tardy – sorry)

Today I saw something that really touched me – it was so powerful in its message that I am a bit shocked that the major aspect was missed by so many in the media and in society in general.  What am I talking about?? London 2012 Flag-gate of course.

There were or are many aspects to this story however what touched me was the passion and unmovable connection between each official, coach and player of the North Korean team and their Identity under their national flag. I am North Korean! That’s what their actions screamed – not disrespecting any other nation but they know who they are.

In this time of such pressures socially and economically do you know, beyond all doubt, who you are?

If someone asked your friend, parent, boss, colleague, partner, child etc  “Who is (Your name here)?”, would they give a similar answer to you?

So early on in these Olympic Games I have been reminded of the importance of making a stand for identity. Not in a ‘throw your toys out of the pram’ way but in a way that evokes all those around you to stand up and respect  your identity and why it means so much to you.

I don’t think too much more needs to be said, I am asking myself who am I and what will I stand for – i ask you the same question.

I am Simon Bucknor and I know who I am!

 

C U Soon

Explore posts in the same categories: General Commentary

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

