The Ripple Between Two Waves

image

A man stands
Too close the edge,
Where there is no barrier between him and the water,
The water is muddy,
Too muddy to see any thing but muddy water,
It’s true, if he were to slip or fall or purposely step forward,
That man would be gone from sight,
In seconds not minutes.

Yet A man stands,
Staring into the murky muddied waters,
And silently speaks to himself.

I watch this man,
With intrigue and a certain excitement,
And fear and sadness,
For he is living his life,
And for this moment I have joined him,
Living his life,
While mine treads water in the air next to where i stand.

As I watch him and think this thought,
I notice one singular ripple,
That bobbed with no sound,
Between two waves among a million waves,
In the murky muddied waters,
And it felt that fpr that moment,
That tiny insignificant ripple,
That ripple lived so briefly between two waves,
Was everything i ever wanted and desire and loved,
And for this moment I have joined it,
Living its life,
While mine treads water in the air next to where I stand.

So in the space of I dont know,
For time became so irrelevant,
I lived 3 lives that made me feel alive in such different ways.

When I looked, the man was gone,
To where,
I did not know or see.

When I looked, the ripple was gone,
To where,
I did not know or see.

Yet now,
A man still stands,
Too close the edge,
Drawn in by the lives he lived,
Seeking life of a vanished man,
And a disappeared ripple that lived between two waves, among a million waves,
Where it was too muddy to see any thing but murky muddied water,
It’s true, if he were to slip or fall or purposely step forward.

Pondering lives lived and lives to live.
Watching the insignificant become take on meaning,
As those who touch us walk in and out of the life we know,
To where,
We do not see or know.

SDB

Explore posts in the same categories: Poetry

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “The Ripple Between Two Waves”


  1. Beautifully intense.x


Leave a Reply

