Dirty Waters

Yes Mama,
I gave my best,
I did everything I could do,
Before, during and between.

Yet Mama,
As night covers day,
I stand alone in this place
Knowing that it simply wasnt enough,
Not then, not now and not between.

So when tomorrow comes
And its only hours away,
How will I stand in confidence,
Knowinh I may not be good enough,
Tomorrow or the days after.

My Son,
As I hear u, I smile,
The years behind me warming my heart,
Its so good to hear you and know,
That your learning what it takes,
To live,
In this place,
With these trials,
And these tests,
And stand as a man,
Both you and I can be proud of,
Let today pass,
And let tomorrow be,
For untill there is not a tomorrow to come,
Your best will be enough,
And you will be everything you need,
Before during and after,
Tomorrow today and all the days to come.

Well done.

To understand is to go beyond love

Explore posts in the same categories: Poetry

One Comment on “Dirty Waters”

  1. wordpalettes Says:

    I love this. A wonderful interplay between a mother and son
    “For until there is not a tomorrow to come,
    Your best will be enough,
    And you will be everything you need”


Leave a Reply

